You are here: Wanganui County Council [II]

Reference: WDC ABJ

Record type: Agency

Record: Wanganui County Council [II]

Wanganui County Council [II]

Date Established:1988
Date Disestablished:1989
Agency Code:WDC ABJ
Successor Agencies:Whanganui District Council
Predecessor Agencies:Wanganui County Council and Waitotara County Council

This shortlived “reconstitution” of the two County Councils seems to have been a response to central government restructuring initiatives. The reconstituted County comprised nine ridings: Brunswick-Westmere, Otamatea, Raorikia, Waitotara, Kaitoke, Kaukatea-Purua, Mangawhero, Mangamahu, Morikau-Upokongaro. The first Council meeting was held 19 April 1988. In November 1989 the County amalgamated with Wanganui City to form the Wanganui District.

Discuss This Record

There are 0 comments in this discussion.

join this discussion