You are here: Waipawa County Council

Reference: TDC 6.0

Record type: Agency

Record: Waipawa County Council

Waipawa County Council

Date Established:1876
Date Disestablished:1977
Agency Code:TDC 6.0
Successor Agencies:Ormondville Town Board, Dannevirke Town Board, Woodville Town Board, Patangata County Council, Woodville County Council, and Dannevirke County Council
Predecessor Agencies:Hawkes Bay Provincial Government, Ormondville Road Board, and Maharahara Road Board


The Waipawa County was formed in 1876. In 1885 the County was split and the new Patangata County Council was formed. In 1901 the County was split again, with the Woodville County Council being formed, this included the amalgamation of several road boards with the new County. Finally in 1908 the County was further split with the formation of the Dannevirke County Council. In 1977 the Waipawa County merged with Waipawa Borough to form the Waipawa District Council, which in turn merged with the Waipukurau District Council in 1989 to form the Central Hawke’s Bay District Council.

No records are held for this County or for the successors which fall outside of the current (2010) Tararua District Council boundaries. The archives of this council are held by the Central Hawkes Bay District Council.


Town Boards

Several Town Boards were created in the County's area. Within the present day Tararua District there was the Woodville Town Board in 1884, Dannevirke in 1885, Ormondville in 1886 and Norsewood in 1911.


Road Boards

Between 1876 and 1889 a number of Road Districts were formed within the County. These include the Norsewood and Woodville Road Boards in 1876, Ormondville circa 1878, the Maharahara and Manga-atua Road Boards in 1885 and the Kumeroa Road Board in 1889. These Road Boards either amalgamated back into the County later on, or formed the basis of new county councils.

Discuss This Record

There are 0 comments in this discussion.

join this discussion