Requesting Information from Archives Central

Whanganui District Council and Palmerston North City Council store their own archives and requests for information from those collections need to be made to them.  The other councils have placed their archives in the Archives Central building at 40 Bowen Street, Feilding.

                                                                                       

Whanganui District Council Archives

               

 

Ian Matheson City Archives (PNCC)

Location: 101 Guyton Street, Wanganui       Location: Heritage, 2nd Floor, Central Library, Palmerston North
Phone: (06) 349 0001   Phone: (06) 351 4100
Email: archives@whanganui.govt.nz   Email: heritage@pncc.govt.nz
Postal: PO Box 637, Wanganui 4540   Postal: PO Box 1948, Palmerston North 4440
Hours: By Appointment    Hours: Mon, Tues,  Fri 9.30am - 6pm; Wed 10am – 6pm; Thurs 9.30am – 8pm; Sat 10am-4pm; Sun 1-4pm
Christmas Hours:

Closed from 12pm Friday 23rd Dec

Reopen 8am Monday 16 Jan

  Christmas Hours:

Closed from midday 23 Dec to Tues 27 Dec (inclusive)

Open Wed 28 – Sat 31 Dec (inclusive) 9.30 am – 5pm

Closed Sun 1– Tues 3 Jan (inclusive)

Open Wed 4 Jan – Friday 6 Jan, 9.30 – 5pm

From Sat 7 Jan onwards usual hours

 

Archives Central building                            

 

 

Location:

40 Bowen Street, Feilding      
Phone: (06) 9522 819      
Email: enquiries@archivescentral.org.nz                                                                                                                        
Hours:

1pm - 5pm Tuesday to Friday

     
Christmas Hours:

Closed from 5pm Thursday 22 Dec

Reopen 1pm Tuesday 10 Jan

     

 A list of other websites that researchers may find useful can be found here