The Manawatu District Council Collection is at the Archives Central building at 40 Bowen Street, Feilding.

The Manawatu District Council was formed in 1989 from an amalgamation of the first Manawatu District Council, Pohangina County Council, Kiwitea County Council, Feilding Borough Council and most of the Oroua County Council (excluding Ashhurst which joined with Palmerston North City Council).

The Manawatu District Council Collection contains the records of these numerous predecessor organisations and earlier road boards and town boards that operated within the current district boundaries from 1876-1989.

The types of records found in the Manawatu archives include:

  • Minute books and other meeting papers
  • Correspondence files
  • Letter Books
  • Rate books and valuation rolls
  • Electoral rolls
  • Accounts and financial records
  • Aerial photographs

Requesting Information

The Manawatu District Council archives are stored at the Archives Central building at 40 Bowen Street, Feilding. Contact details may be found on the right hand side of this page, or on the contact page.

Manawatu District Council Archives

Located:40 Bowen Street, Feilding
Open:1pm - 5pm Tuesday to Friday
Fees:Charges Schedule
Phone:(06) 952 2819
Free Phone:0508 522 819
Council Website:Manawatu District Council

Digitised Rate Books

Digitised Maps

Digitised Aerial Photos

Random Image from the Archive

Aerial Photograph Transparency, Borough of Feilding, Sheet B2.

Blank Play/Pause Slideshow. Next Image.