You are here: The Tararua Story Exhibition, August 2013

Record type: Notional

Record: The Tararua Story Exhibition, August 2013

Of all the District Councils that have deposited their records at Archives Central, the Tararua District Council has one of the more complicated histories when it comes to predecessor organisations. From Counties to Boroughs to Town Boards to Road Boards, the District has been covered by more than 43 different authorities over its history.

This exhibition highlights key dates and archives for the major authorities that have operated within the Tararua District boundaries.

Sheet 1 - Timeline of the Early Road Boards and Counties

Sheet 2 - Dannevirke

Sheet 3 - Woodville

Sheet 4 - Pahiatua

Sheet 5 - Eketahuna

Sheet 6 - Weber and Akitio

Sheet 7 - Ormondville and Norsewood Town Boards

Sheet 8 - Tararua District

A short video that shows the changing council boundaries in the Tararua District from 1876-1989. Boundaries are approximate only. No archives are held for councils coloured grey - they are either with Masterton District Council or Central Hawkes Bay District Council.

Discuss This Record

There are 0 comments in this discussion.

join this discussion