Kaitoke Road Board

Has Beginning Date
Has End Date

The Wellington Provincial Government allowed for the establishment of Road Boards to undertake detailed work on rural highways, with finance coming from rates and Provincial Government grants. The abolition of the Provinces in 1876, followed by the 1878 Counties Act, gave Road Boards the power to construct and maintain rural roads, with County Councils responsible for arterial road construction. The 1882 Roads Board Act provided for the regularisation of Board structures and powers, with an emphasis on detailed road works in isolated areas. The County Councils were also given the power to merge Boards into Counties, on petitioning by ratepayers. With the completion of major roading developments by the early 1900s, most Road Boards ceased to function between 1900 and 1920.

The Wanganui County Council’s meeting of 1 September 1891 made a Special Order constituting the Kaitoke Riding into a Road District, with a Board of five members. The District comprised the area south of Wanganui to the Whangaehu River, from the coast inland to No. 2 Line, generally the same area as subdivision 1 of the former Wangaehu Road District 1872-1886. The Board’s final meeting was on 4 September 1912, after which it was dissolved into the Wanganui County. The County records contain plans of the Road Board’s area.

Corporate Body Type
Government Organization
Related Entities
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Wanganui County Council [I]