Manawatu District Council [I]

PNCC 12 / MDC 5.0 / HDC 4.0
Has Beginning Date
Has End Date

The first Manawatu District Council was formed from an amalgamation of the Manawatu and Kairanga County Councils. Under the Local Government restructuring of 1989, part of the territory of the Manawatu District Council (largely the area formally covered by the Kairanga County) was included in Palmerston North city’s boundaries. Records, created in 1988 – 1989, relating to the transferred territory were then passed to the Palmerston North City Council in 1989. The rest of the first Manawatu District Council amalgamated with the Feilding Borough, Pohangina County, Kiwitea County and the bulk of Oroua County to form a new Manawatu District Council.

Corporate Body Type
Government Organization
Related Entities
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Manawatu District Council [II]
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Palmerston North City Council
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Horowhenua District Council
is successor of (RiC-R016i): Kairanga County Council
is successor of (RiC-R016i): Manawatu County Council