Manawatu District Noxious Plants Authority

HRC 8.2
Has Beginning Date
Has End Date

In 1978 the Noxious Plants Act was passed, which required all local authorities to form District Noxious Plant Authorities (DNPAs) for their area. Rather than each council setting up their own individual authority the Manawatu, Oroua and Kairanga County Councils investigated forming a joint DNPA. In 1979 the new Manawatu District Noxious Plants Authority was formed and held it’s inaugural meeting on the 9th March of that year. The Authority was responsible for employing a Noxious Plants Officer, approved subsidised noxious plant control programmes and recommended to the Noxious Plants Council the classification of plants in their district. In 1989 the Manawatu Authority was amalgamated with a number of others to form the new Manawatu Wanganui Regional Council.

Corporate Body Type
Government Organization
Related Entities
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Horizons Regional Council