Ministry of Works and Development, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research - Havelock North Office

HRC 16.8
Has Beginning Date
1950 (year approximate)
Has End Date
1988 (year approximate)

The New Zealand Ministry of Works and Development, formerly the Department of Public Works and often referred to as the Public Works Department or PWD, was founded in 1876 and disestablished and privatised in 1988. The Ministry had its own Cabinet-level responsible minister, the Minister of Works or Minister of Public Works.

During the latter years of the Ministry there were seven District Offices (Auckland, Hamilton, Whanganui, Napier, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin) each headed by a District Commissioner of Works. In each District there were a number of Residency Offices (headed by a Resident Engineer) and each had a number of Depots. In addition there were Project Offices set up for a particular purpose, such as to build a power project, airport, tunnel or irrigation scheme. There were several departments for air and water resources throughout the Horizons Region pre-1989.

This division was a forerunner to the National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA).


Horizons Regional Council Hydrometric Recording Authority Code 90

Corporate Body Type
Government Organization


No results found.