Oroua County Council

Has Beginning Date
Has End Date

The Oroua County Council was first formed in 1883, breaking away from the Manawatu County Council and covered most of the area of the current Manawatu District Council and some of what is now the Palmerston North City Council. Most of the Councillors who stood for office, did so on a platform of suspending the Counties Act within the Council's boundaries. This would have the effect of dispersing the powers of the Council to the Manchester, Kiwitea and Manawatu Road Boards and the Halcombe Town Board and leave the County Council effectively as a figure head with no staff or funds. This was achieved in 1884 and the council ceased to have any staff or conduct any work, with all responsibilities now devolved to the Road and Town Boards. Elections continued to be held for the Councillors, with the last one being held in 1890. The Council of that year did not meet and the councillors gradually lost their positions during the 1890s as the Road Boards split or became County Councils in their own right (as per Section 93 of the Counties Act, 1886).

By 1902 the Manchester Road Board and the Halcombe Town Board were the only remaining Boards in Oroua County, the others having formed the Kiwitea, Pohangina and Kairanga Counties. In 1902 the Manchester Road Board petitioned for the Counties act to be reinstated in what remained of the Oroua County. This was granted in 1903, the Road Board was dissolved and was used as the basis for reforming the Oroua County Council. This new Council later took over several Boards and Committees in the township of Ashhurst. Oroua County Council remained in existence until 1989 when several councils merged to form the Manawatu District Council, except for the portion of land containing the Ashhurst township which was absorbed into the Palmerston North City Council.


In 1989, under a Local Government re-structure, records of the Oroua County Council were assigned to the newly established Manawatu District Council and the Palmerston North City Council, if they pertained to Ashhurst only.

Corporate Body Type
Government Organization
Related Entities
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Kairanga County Council
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Kiwitea County Council
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Pohangina County Council
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Manawatu District Council [II]
is antecedent of (RiC-R016): Palmerston North City Council
is successor of (RiC-R016i): Manawatu County Council
is successor of (RiC-R016i): Manchester Road Board


Name Sort descending Identifier Dates
Aerial Photographs of Feilding to Bunnythorpe Road MDC 00523 1968-1968
Ashhurst and Pohangina Area Display Panels PNCC O3/22/1 1880-1970
Ashhurst Cemetery - headstone transcriptions PNCC O3/16/22 1974-1984
Ashhurst Cemetery Account Forms PNCC O3/16/12 1969-1980
Ashhurst Cemetery Board Cheque Book Stubs PNCC O3/16/10 1967-1969
Ashhurst Cemetery Receipt Book PNCC O3/16/9 1949-1973
Ashhurst Cemetery Registers PNCC O3/16/21
Ashhurst Cemetery Trustees Cash Books PNCC O3/16/4 1901-1974
Ashhurst Cemetery Trustees Minutes PNCC O3/16/1 1942-1972
Ashhurst Cemetery Warrant Book. PNCC O3/16/16 1965-1971
Ashhurst County Town Committee General Correspondence PNCC O3/20/2 1958-1971
Ashhurst County Town Committee Inward Correspondence PNCC O3/20/4 1971-1975
Ashhurst County Town Committee Minutes PNCC O3/20/1 1958-1974
Ashhurst County Town Committee Outward Correspondence PNCC O3/20/5 1971-1975
Ashhurst County Town Committee Subject Files PNCC O3/20/3 1959-1970
Ashhurst District Community Council Agendas PNCC O3/21/1 1984-1989
Ashhurst Domain and Cemetery Board Correspondence PNCC O3/16/3 1926-1979
Ashhurst Domain Board Annual Reports PNCC O3/16/6 1966-1974
Ashhurst Domain Board By-Laws PNCC O3/16/14 1912
Ashhurst Domain Board Cash Books PNCC O3/16/5 1927-1979
Ashhurst Domain Board Cheque Book Stubs PNCC O3/16/11 1967-1976
Ashhurst Domain Board Deeds of Lease PNCC O3/16/15 1924-1926
Ashhurst Domain Board Minutes PNCC O3/16/2 1905-1972
Ashhurst Domain Board Receipt Book PNCC O3/16/8 1959-1974
Ashhurst Domain Management Committee Agendas PNCC O3/16/20 1983-1989
Ashhurst Public Cemetery By-Laws PNCC O3/16/13 1901
Ashhurst Public Hall Cash Book PNCC O3/20/6 1964-1966
Ashhurst Rates and Valuation Rolls PNCC O3/9/15 1982-1987
Building Permit Books - Ashhurst PNCC O3/14/6 1972-1982
Building Permit Books - Ashhurst PNCC O3/14/7 1982-1989
Feilding and Districts Dog Authority Correspondence files MDC 00074 1982-1990
Feilding and Districts Dog Authority Minute Book MDC 00323 1982-1989
Feilding and Districts Dog Authority Order Papers MDC 00075 1982-1989
New Zealand Labourers Award PNCC O3/16/19 1964
Newspaper Clippings MDC 00322 1900-1905
Oroua County Council - Building Permit Application Files PNCC O3/14/2 1955-1978
Oroua County Council Balance Sheets MDC 00036 1908-1989
Oroua County Council Certificates of Registration of Food Premises MDC 00319 1974-1980
Oroua County Council Contract Files MDC 00130 1952-1989
Oroua County Council Contract Ledgers MDC 00321 1900-1989
Oroua County Council Correspondence/Subject Files PNCC O3/4/4 1956-1989
Oroua County Council Dangerous Goods Licences MDC 00320 1973-1974
Oroua County Council District Planning Scheme PNCC O3/11/1 1989
Oroua County Council District Schemes MDC 00121 1965-1988
Oroua County Council Electoral Rolls MDC 00123 1959-1986
Oroua County Council General ledger Expenditure Analysis Reports MDC 00308 1988-1989
Oroua County Council General Ledger Expenditure Reports MDC 00307 1982-1989
Oroua County Council General Ledgers MDC 00302 1896-1982
Oroua County Council General Receipts and Payments Cash Book MDC 00299 1894-1908
Oroua County Council Gorge Ferry ledger MDC 00306 1904-1909