Tararua District Council

Tararua District Council logoThe Tararua District Council was formed in 1989 from an amalgamation of the Woodville District Council, Dannevirke District Council, Eketahuna County Council, Pahiatua County Council and Pahiatua Borough Council. The Tararua District Collection contains the records of these numerous predecessor organisations and earlier road boards, boroughs and counties that operated within the current district boundaries from 1876-1989.

 The types of records found in the Tararua archives include:

  • Accounts and financial records;
  • Aerial photographs;
  • Building permits;
  • Cemetery maps and records;
  • Correspondence files;
  • Electoral rolls;
  • Engineering plans,
  • Letter books;
  • Minute books and other meeting papers;
  • Rate books and valuation rolls;
  • Regional maps and plans;
  • Wage records